Giants name team captains

The Giants players have voted and selected five team captains for the 2014 season.

Eli Manning, Victor Cruz, Antrel Rolle, Jon Beason and Zak DeOssie will be the team captains this year.

“I’m hoping we have 53 that take full responsibility and accountability for our team, pride in our team,” Tom Coughlin said in a release. “But I think the players have spoken in terms of who they have chosen to be in the leadership position as captains. We’ve spent a lot of time talking about leadership. The unselfish commitment to team, and ‘team first’ must come from your captains, and your captains must be young men who put the team above themselves. They must be young men who lead not only by what they say, but by their example – more significantly by their example. And they also, because of the nature of our business, they reflect what they do say by what they do on the field.”