Giants’ Final Roster Doesn’t Include Carr, Austin, Ojomo, Sash

John Fennelly, Lead Writer

The Giants announced their final roster tonight and naturally, there were some surprises.

Curtis Painter supplanted David Carr as the team’s primary backup at QB and the team chose to go with only three safeties to start the season. Preseason stars Kyle Bosworth and Charles James were both released, with James a heavy favorite to return as a member of the practice squad.

“We simply based it on the preseason,” said Tom Coughlin of the final decision at QB.  “From the standpoint of all the evaluations, it pointed to the fact that Painter had a better preseason.”

Carr was a fixture at backup QB, a position that has become a running joke since Eli Manning has started 146 consecutive games.

“We’ll miss David Carr around here, to be honest with you. He’s done an outstanding job directing our second offense and our scout team. He has the ability to do whatever we ask of him in that regard. He can run the option, he can be the running quarterback if you want him to do that. Ryan Nassib is going to have to step up and be that guy when you’re talking about the teams we play that have a running quarterback.”

Justin Trattou, who led the team in sacks during the preseason, ousted Adrian Tracy for the final DE spot.

“Trattou has the ability to help us out in a lot of different ways both from scrimmage and special teams,” Coughlin said. “There were four young men who were very much in contention for that job. Broha was very much involved in that, too. Quite frankly, it was very, very close. We made a decision really based on an individual that was ranked a little bit higher on special teams.”

Six of the seven 2013 draft choices made the club. The only exception was seventh-round pick OL Eric Herman, who may be added to practice squad.

Offense (26)
QB (3): Eli Manning, Curtis Painter, Ryan Nassib
RB: (4): David Wilson, Andre Brown, Da’Rel Scott, Michael Cox
FB (1): Henry Hynoski
WR (5): Hakeem Nicks, Victor Cruz, Rueben Randle, Louis Murphy, Jerrel Jernigan
TE (4): Brandon Myers, Bear Pascoe, Adrien Robinson, Larry Donnell
OL: (9): David Diehl, Chris Snee, Will Beatty, Kevin Boothe, David Baas, Justin Pugh, Jim Cordle, Brandon Mosley, James Brewer

Defense (24)
DE (5): Justin Tuck, Jason Pierre-Paul, Mathias Kiwanuka, Damontre Moore, Justin Trattou
DT (5): Linval Joseph, Cullen Jenkins, Shaun Rogers, Johnathan Hankins, Mike Patterson
LB (5): Dan Connor, Keith Rivers, Spencer Paysinger, Mark Herzlich, Jacquian Williams
CB (6): Corey Webster, Prince Amukamara, Aaron Ross, Terrell Thomas, Jayron Hosley, Trumaine McBride
S (3): Antrel Rolle, Ryan Mundy, Cooper Taylor

Specialists (3)
K: Josh Brown
P: Steve Weatherford
LS: Zak DeOssie

A decision still looms as whether Andre Bowrn