Pro Football HOF: Parcells IN, Strahan Will Have to Wait

Former Giant legend Bill Parcells is among seven inductees to the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2013.

Also elected were: Jonathan Ogden, Cris Carter, Larry Allen, Warren Sapp and veteran selections Dave Robinson and Curley Culp.

Giant great Michael Strahan was the only first-year eligible nominee not to be selected.

Strahan was the NFL Defensive Player of the Year in 2001 after setting the league’s single-season sack record (22.5) which still stands today. He also is the Giants’ all-time leader in sacks with 141.

Selected by the Giants out of Texas Southern in the second round of the 1993 NFL Draft, Strahan became a staple on the Giants’ defense and played all of his 15 seasons in Blue. He was selected to the Pro Bow seven times.

Parcells coached the Giants to two Super Bowl titles and is currently third in all-time franchise victories behind HOFer Steve Owen and future HOFer Tom Coughlin.